Clubs and Players to have won the treble TWICE.

Winning the treble in European football is not something even the great Real Madrid or Liverpool sides have managed to achieve. Winning the treble means, the team will have to win the domestic league and cup and also win the UEFA Champions league.

Not many coaches, clubs or players have won it ever. Manchester United in 1999 and Inter Milan in the 2010 have achieved winning the treble in the past, but can not boast of winning the treble two times because winning it once is not at all easy talk more of winning it twice.

Real Madrid have dominated in the UEFA Champions League in recent years but could not replicate it domestically, as they will either miss out on winning either the La Liga or Copa De Rey. The same thing goes for the great Liverpool sides in the 80s.

Teams like Juventus and Paris Saint-Germain most recently came close to winning the treble but fell short in the last hurdle, which is winning the UEFA Champions League after winning all domestic trophies and making it to final of the Champions League.


Winning the domestic treble is something very common with Paris Saint-Germain and Manchester City in recent years. Winning the French league, Coupe de France and Coupe de la ligue or winning the English Premier League, the FA Cup and the English league cup does not transcend to winning the treble as they both failed to win the UEFA Champions League.

Liverpool won the FA cup, League cup and the UEFA cup in the year 2001, which means they won three trophies in a season but did not win the treble.

Manchester United and Inter Milan are clubs to have won the treble in the past under great coaches, Sir Alex Ferguson and Jose Mourinho in the year 1999 and 2010 respectively. However, we are taking a look at teams to have won the treble twice.


Only two clubs in the top five European leagues have won the League, their domestic cup and the UEFA Champions League in the same season TWICE in recent history.

It is usually not an easy feat to achieve and to achieve it twice is a unprecedented achievement considering the fact that many clubs are equally striving for greatness.



Barcelona won their first treble in the year 2009 after an underwhelming previous season that saw the Catalan giants change manager and also shifting out a few star players most notably, Ronaldinho, after the new manager, Pep Guardiola.

The Catalan club ended up winning the treble in Pep Guardiola’s first season in charge, proving doubters wrong as they were many questions asked when he was appointed manager of the club with relatively no experience managing at the biggest level.

The second treble Barcelona won was in the year 2015 with relatively untested manager Luis Enrique after failing to impress at AS Roma and doing just okay with Celta Vigo.

Their famous front three consisting of Lionel Messi, Liuz Suarez and Neymar Jr [MSN] led them to all major trophies and scoring over a hundred goals between them [MSN].

Dani Alves, Gerrad Pigue, Andreas Iniesta, Xavi Hernandez, Pedro Rodriguez, Sergio Busket and Lionel Messi are among players who won the treble twice.


After the disappointment of going trophyless in the 2011/2012 season, with Borussia Dortmund winning the Bundesliga title and beating the Bavarian giants in the DFB Pokal final and most painfully losing the Champions League final which was staged in their home stadium, the Allianz Arena.

Bayern stuck with their players and managers and went on to win the treble the following season of 2012/2013. Jupp Heynckes repaid the faith the club had in him by winning the treble before announcing his retirement from coaching. He however, came out of retirement to coach years later.

The second treble winning campaign came in the just concluded season[2019/2020]. After a very poor start to the season, the club directors sacked their manager, Niko Kovac and put Hansi Flick in interim charge of the club.

Hansi Flick however, turned out to be more than just good choice. He got them playing great football and winning all available trophys. He was named the permanent manager of Bayern Munich.

Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng, David Alaba, Javi Martinez and Thomas Muller are players who won the treble twice.

Samuel Eto’o became the first player to win the treble in consecutive years and only player to have won it with two different clubs after winning first with Barcelona before moving to Inter Milan the following season and also ended up winning the treble with the Italian giants.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top